A Home-cooked Meal

Happy February!

We’ve had snow and ice blanketing campus most of January. Only ten days in to February, we have received several snowfalls. With less than one month remaining of Winter Term, many students are starting to get “cabin-fever.” To break up the monotony of campus and the dinning hall, I recently had dinner at one of my friend’s houses.

Paiges dinner with friends

She is a fac-brat (Exeter lingo for a faculty child). Her family loves to cook and invite us over for dinner. It’s a win-win situation: they get lively conversation on the State of the Union, languages, and classical music while we receive non d-hall food. Although d-hall has a steady variety of food, sometimes all us boarders want is a nice, home-cooked meal enjoyed in a proper house, not a dorm kitchen.

Paiges dinner

Our conversations over dinner and tea while listening to Brahms reminded us that the Harkness style of discussion extends outside of the classrooms and is everywhere on campus, even in homes.

Paige

This entry was posted in Dining Hall, Fun, Residential Life and tagged , , by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Three-Year Upper at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I spent my earlier years outdoors, on both the fields and the rivers. I have carried that into my time at Exeter. I row, am part of Outing Club, and frequently go on runs and walks in the woods around campus and town. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have started Russian this year and am proficient in Arabic. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Good Karma Cafe Favorite Assembly: Winter Holidays Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola