Arts and Music at PEA

Academics are certainly a big part of Big Red, but arts and music are just as important or are sometimes even more important. I have played piano for nine years and I’m happy to say that I continue to play at Exeter. Our music program and building is great because of the talented musicians and teachers that make it. We have orchestras, bands, soloists, and music groups that you can join if you want. In addition to musicians who play instruments, we have tons of great vocalists and a cappella groups for singers like the Exceteras, the PEADS and Fermatas.

Our dance program and acting program both work extremely hard as well. Sometimes, I go and watch the dance concerts or the plays that they put on and I’m always impressed. Not to mention our visual arts, like photography, ceramics and painting. I took ceramics last term and even though I knew nothing, it was still a lot of fun and a great experience. I learned how to work on the wheel and I made a couple of bowls and mugs too. While Exeter is well known for its academics, our arts and music are phenomenal too!

This entry was posted in Arts and Music and tagged , , , by Kevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin

Hey applicants! My name is Kevin Zhen and my hometown is Miami, FL. I’m a four year senior living in Cilley Hall. Back home, I have a sister, two great parents, and a golden retriever back home named Cooper. Since I came to Exeter, I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of a variety of clubs and activities. Currently, I am the President of the Senior Class and the head of two different clubs (ITXC, Exeter's breakdance club, a history club that competes in an annual national competition), as well as the Humor Editor of the Exonian, the school newspaper. In my free time, I also enjoy playing piano and am planning to perform a one-hour senior recital in the spring of this year. I love exploring town and playing C-ball (a sport that combines volleyball with tennis and soccer that only my dorm plays) with my boys. Hometown: Miami, Florida Class: 2016 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Las O Favorite Assembly: Dance Assembly Favorite subject: English