Just Another Night

https://i1.wp.com/s12.postimage.org/kiz9fhwtp/desk.jpg

So this is a shot of my desk today. To the bottom-left corner, you can see my girl scout cookies from the lovely Mrs Waleryszak. If any of you have ever interviewed at or toured Exeter, you probably met Mrs Waleryszak manning the front desk. She’s a lovely, caring person, who surprises her starving head tour guides with cookies in their PO. I’ll be enjoying those later. Moving a little to the right, you may notice the Hoyt Hall Duty Book. As a proctor in my dorm, it’s part of my job to check students in once a week. Preps and Lowers check in at 8, Uppers at 9 and seniors at 10. Preps, Lowers and Uppers are supposed to be waiting in their rooms and so I have to go around the dorm and hunt them down when it’s time for check-in. (For Seniors it’s the other way round, they have to go find the book.) Actually, here’s a little check-in story: It was just after I became a proctor last year, the first night I was ever on duty. I was supposed to do all the 8pm check-ins, but after going through the entire dorm I couldn’t find half the preps and lowers. By the third or fourth time I’d run around the entire dorm, I was starting to freak out, along with Ms Chu, who’d also run all around the dorm with me. It was getting pretty late, and I was panicking about how I could have somehow lost half my preplings and lowers. I mean, how could eight people just disappear simultaneously? We’d called them, texted them, asked people around the dorm about them, nothing. Things were getting pretty serious. We had people in the dorm looking for them and were discussing calling campus security and alerting the deans. That’s when I heard some voices in the stairwell, and there they all were, coming up the stairs. Turns out all of them had been in their adviser’s apartment, having a chat. So in the end, no one was kidnapped or lost in the woods. But for that half-an-hour when I had no idea where anyone was, that was pretty nerve-wracking, especially for my first day on duty. We’d kicked up a huge fuss for nothing, and I didn’t even care because when that feeling of relief hit me, I was just so glad that it really had been nothing. It made me realise how much people care, both faculty and students, about the other people in the dorm. We really worry when someone’s missing or not feeling well, and it’s nice to know that there are people here who will do everything they can to help if something happens.

So yeah, when I’m on duty, I do have a faculty member with me, so it’s not just little old me holding down the fort and letting you all run wild. The teacher’s in the duty room exactly one floor above me, and often I’m hanging out there with some other students, talking and doing homework. You can’t see it, but my door is also open, as per the rules for the proctor on duty, because I’ll be available all night for any students who need help with something or just want to chat. And actually, even beyond that, I’m always glad when someone drops by my room, anytime. And on the other side of the desk…well, that stuff’s been there for months, and I think it’ll be there until graduation…even though I really should get to some of the stuff there…haha…

Anyway, this is me, sitting at my desk, and here I am writing to all of you instead of starting my homework. If you have any other questions arise from this post, such as how check-in works, what proctors do, what else we do at night in the dorm, etc, just ask!

This entry was posted in Residential Life and tagged , by Tian. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tian

Hi, I'm Tian, a Korean born in China living in Australia going to school in America. That's always fun to say. At Exeter, when not stressing about work, I can usually be found chilling with my dorm, or pining after some kind of food. As a head tour guide, dorm proctor, clarinet player and exonian, among other things, I hope you find plenty to love about Exeter too. Hometown: Sydney, NSW, Australia Class: 2013 Favourite Restaurant in Town: Pad Thai or Green Bean Favourite Assembly: Faculty Follies! Favourite Books I've Read at Exeter: The Great Gatsby, The Things They Carried