D-Hall Delights

Here at Exeter, we have two dinning halls, or dhalls, on campus. Any student, wether boarding or day, can eat here for all three meals of the day. On a weekday, the breakfasts always feature bagels and bread, cereal, yogurt, fruits, eggs, and some sort of breakfast pastry, in addition to milk, juices, and water to drink. Lunch and dinner vary on a daily basis, but there are always salad, sandwich, cereal, and pasta options, in addition to a daily soup and bread choice, the hot line, and desserts.

I personally tend to sit with the same people in the dining hall on a daily basis. But some students will sit with different friends every day. It all depends. However, if you don’t want to, you will never have to sit alone. Almost every dorm has their respective tables in the dining halls, and you can always sit with them. More often than not, I find it necessary to pull up chairs to tables to fit all the people gathered around them. You might see, though, some people sitting alone. Many kids will grab a table for their friends if they are the first ones out of class. Some even choose to work in the dinning hall on homework and such.

To help add to the daily food options in the dining hall, Dining Services hosts events throughout the dorm. We’ve had a Chinese New Year Dinner, a Pancakes with Principal Dinner, a Hawaiian Themed Lunch, and in the Spring, we have Jazz Brunch. Also, a shout-out for those of you who have allergies or special diets, it is manageable to eat a more specialized diet in dhall. They have Vegetarian and Vegan options on the hot line for every meal. All the allergens in a dish are labeled. For those with Gluten Allergies or who opt to eat Gluten Free, there are special toasters, breads, bagels, and cereals for you to eat. For those with other dietary concerns, again, everything is labeled, including nuts and dairy and types of meat. To help accommodate, there are always soy and rice milks available in dhall. For those with religious-related-diets, the Dining Hall staff tries to be accommodating as possible. For Lent, they serve fish dishes on Fridays. For those who cannot eat pork, they do label everything that contains pork.

This entry was posted in Dining Hall, Residential Life and tagged , , , , , , , , by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola