Being a Day Student

At a boarding school, being a day student is a unique experience. Here at Exeter, day students make up a relatively large portion of our student population: we are about one fifth, or 200 of the 1000 students. I’ve been a tour guide since my freshman year, and a lot of prospective day students that I’ve toured ask if there’s a social difference between day students and boarders. As a day student that’s slept in dorms multiple times, I can say that boarding students share a unique brotherhood within their dorm, but not necessarily a stronger one than the bonds between day students. As I’m writing this, I’m sitting in my day student friend’s basement with five other friends (that’s one perk of being a day student – when the boarders are gone, we can still hang out with each other on breaks). Besides this, we have several other advantages: we have the freedom to get our licenses, we still get to spend time with our families and friends from our towns, and we get to enjoy the luxury of a home-cooked meal.

Don’t get me wrong, being a boarder is great too, but as a loyal day-stud, I thought I’d make a plug. See you at Experience Exeter,

Zach

This entry was posted in Day Student Life and tagged by Zach. Bookmark the permalink.

About Zach

Hometown: North Hampton, NH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in town: Las Olas is classic, but you should probably check out The Tavern too. Favorite Assembly: Exeter Association of Rock Favorite Cartoon Character as a kid: Timmy Turner from the Fairly Odd Parents Hey guys! My name is Zach, and I'm a four year senior at PEA. For nearly 8 years, I've lived about 15 minutes away from campus in the neighboring town of North Hampton. Along with about a fifth of the school (some 200 kids), I'm a day student here. I moved to the area the summer before 4th grade, and on the way into town, before I had even seen my new house, we happened to drive through campus. At the time I knew nothing about the school, but that didn't stop me from declaring that this was the high school that I would go to. 8 years later, I'm still happy I made that decision. Here at Exeter, I spend time acting, playing guitar, and rowing, a sport which I had never thought about participating in until I got to campus. I also take Spanish, and I am cohead of the Improv club, Muslim Students Association, and board member of Dramat, the school Drama club, on campus. I hope I can give you guys a good idea of how unique a place Exeter really is.