Why I chose Exeter

Coming to Exeter was a big decision for me and my family. Should I stay or should I go? Staying home meant going to school with my friends, eating home-cooked meals, and not worrying if there would be enough room in my laundry bag for my clothes. Going to Exeter meant meeting new friends from all over the world, trying classes like Architecture or attending Indaba at Phelps Sanctuary, testing my skill at sports I never knew existed like water polo, and trying to stuff all my dirty clothes in a very small laundry bag. (I am 6’ 3” and my clothes are big!) If you guessed I chose Exeter, you’re right and if you are reading this, you must be considering Exeter too.  Weighing heavily in my decision to attend Exeter were the different and exciting opportunities in academics, clubs and sports. There is such a wide variety of classes that there’s always something you’re interested in. I look forward to taking Ethics in the Marketplace and Macroeconomics. I love the small classes and discussions around the Harkness table, even in math and science, and how I can get to know my teachers on a personal level. Some of my favorite teachers live in my dorm and offer a snack or off-line conversations even after check-in time. There are so many clubs at Exeter but just not enough time in the day to try them all!  My favorites are Student Council; The Exonian; and Matter Magazine, a cool science magazine my friend Sid and I just restarted this year. No matter what your athletic ability, there’s a sports team for you. There are the traditional sports: basketball, soccer, field hockey, tennis and track and some unusual team sports like crew, water polo, squash, cycling and golf.  Exeter has so many ways to stretch and challenge yourself, and I love a challenge. And last, but certainly not least, I love the community on campus; people here are super inviting. I have friends from “every quarter” – Thailand, England and even from my own backyard, Pennsylvania. Exeter has exceeded all my expectations. Exeter is a community of diverse thinkers, caring friends, excellent athletes and engaged faculty. Now that I’m here, I realize it’s one of the best decisions I have ever made. And now I am learning to do laundry…

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events, Congratulations!, Residential Life, Sports by Benj. Bookmark the permalink.

About Benj

I’m Benj Cohen, and I love Exeter. My two favorite things about this school are the people and the opportunities. I enjoy getting involved with the diverse crowd at Exeter through classes, sports and clubs. I’m a Lower and I’m especially passionate about math and history. I’m also a rower, and truly appreciate the team dynamic and relationships I have developed through crew. Some people think I’m a bit club crazy.... I work on The Exonian (school paper) Business Board; manage our new science magazine, Matter; participate in Exeter Jewish Community; represent my class on Student Council; and give tours to prospective students and families (I like people and this is a great way to meet an interesting group!). Through my blog, I look forward to sharing my Exeter experience with you! Hope to see you on the paths soon.