Congratulations to the new class of 2017

I think everyone that posts on this blog can say that March 10th is a day that they won’t forget. For me, Exeter was my dream school: my acceptance letter was the culmination of months, if not years, of work. To the many students in a similar situation that I was in two years ago: congratulations, you made it! However, I recognize that some of the rest of you have shopped around for prep schools and are now faced with a choice as to what school you’ll be attending next fall. I think the best thing to be said for Exeter is this: yes, it is a lot of work, but you learn at a pace here that keeps you on your toes all the time, which is an extremely rewarding feeling. The things you can get involved in here – whether it is making new friends, picking up a new hobby, club, or sport, or learning how to live independently – make this school unique and well-worth four years of your education.

Again, congratulations to you: getting accepted is no small feat. I encourage you all to come to Experience Exeter: you get to shadow current students for a day, and it begins to give you a sense for the day-to-day life here.

See you on campus in a few weeks,

Zach

This entry was posted in Congratulations! and tagged by Zach. Bookmark the permalink.

About Zach

Hometown: North Hampton, NH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in town: Las Olas is classic, but you should probably check out The Tavern too. Favorite Assembly: Exeter Association of Rock Favorite Cartoon Character as a kid: Timmy Turner from the Fairly Odd Parents Hey guys! My name is Zach, and I'm a four year senior at PEA. For nearly 8 years, I've lived about 15 minutes away from campus in the neighboring town of North Hampton. Along with about a fifth of the school (some 200 kids), I'm a day student here. I moved to the area the summer before 4th grade, and on the way into town, before I had even seen my new house, we happened to drive through campus. At the time I knew nothing about the school, but that didn't stop me from declaring that this was the high school that I would go to. 8 years later, I'm still happy I made that decision. Here at Exeter, I spend time acting, playing guitar, and rowing, a sport which I had never thought about participating in until I got to campus. I also take Spanish, and I am cohead of the Improv club, Muslim Students Association, and board member of Dramat, the school Drama club, on campus. I hope I can give you guys a good idea of how unique a place Exeter really is.