Trip to Flatbreads

The Admissions Team and Head Guides Celebrate the Year With Pizza

The Admissions Team and Head Guides Celebrate the Year With Pizza

So recently the head tour guides went on a trip with the admissions office. And it was awesome. Mr Gary kindly offered to drive us all out to Portsmouth to enjoy this lovely little restaurant known as Flatbreads, where everything is delicious. I think we had ten pizzas around the table, and Mark Serbent, a head tour Guide, had an eating contest with Mr Gary. Mr Gary managed 12 slices. Mark somehow stuffed down 20, setting a new record. This was on top of salad, soda and dessert. I have no idea how he didn’t explode. But watching those two go at it was definitely a highlight.

And Mrs Waleryszak was so sweet, she had a bag of gifts for each of the head guides, and there was definitely a lot of care in what she chose for each of us. I don’t know if she’ll see this, but I just want to say thanks once again to Mrs Waleryszak, for thinking of me, for all the kind words you’ve had for me over the years, and for always making me feel welcome.

The Head Guides (I am in the yellow shirt)

The Head Guides (I am in the yellow shirt)

All in all, it was a great evening, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to get to know the amazing people in the admissions office. Sitting with them tonight, I really became aware of the fact that everything’s winding down, and it’s nearly the end of my Exeter career. When I was applying to Exeter, I never would have imagined I’d be having dinner with the admissions office one day. Things really have come full circle, and I’ll be sorry to leave.

So you guys should all come, and also have the opportunity to meet all these fantastic people at Exeter.

This entry was posted in Admissions, Clubs and Events by Tian. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tian

Hi, I'm Tian, a Korean born in China living in Australia going to school in America. That's always fun to say. At Exeter, when not stressing about work, I can usually be found chilling with my dorm, or pining after some kind of food. As a head tour guide, dorm proctor, clarinet player and exonian, among other things, I hope you find plenty to love about Exeter too. Hometown: Sydney, NSW, Australia Class: 2013 Favourite Restaurant in Town: Pad Thai or Green Bean Favourite Assembly: Faculty Follies! Favourite Books I've Read at Exeter: The Great Gatsby, The Things They Carried