Dunkin Donuts

After the last final is taken, Exeter becomes a different place.  The dorms reminisce over the past year, have cookouts, and honor the seniors.  Boarding students cram their lives into two large plastics bins, several smaller bins, and suitcases, scattering their possessions across not only campus, but the world.  Goodbyes are said as students depart on the final day.  Parents flood into town, maneuvering possessions into the trunks of their mini-vans like tetris tiles.  Yet one event remains constant in the craziness that is the final day: Dunkin Donuts.

After the traditional all-nighter many students pull, Exonians drag themselves to Dunkin Donuts, located about 1 mile from the school.  We race their to see who will beat the line, some leaving as earlier as 4:30. (Don’t worry parents, most of us received permission from dorm fac.)  I’ve seen kids sprint there on bike, on longboards, even running.  To beat the crowd is a skill, because, if you beat the crowd, you can get a coveted table inside of Dunkin instead of waiting outside in the parking lot.

Everyone waits in line for their donut, muffin, and/or coffee that will help sustain them through the 8 remaining 25 minute class formats.  This meal is the first of two breakfasts for most.  Many of us will trudge back to our dorms to nap before going to D-Hall, Rogan’s, Me & Ollie’s, or St. Anthony’s for breakfast.

P.S. Those are all restaurants I encourage you to visit in the fall if you have time when you come to Exeter.  I can’t wait to meet all of you new students next year, and to tour all of those interested in the Academy!

Have a lovely summer!

Paige

This entry was posted in Residential Life and tagged by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola