Arabic in the Summer

Although I study German, English, and Russian at Exeter, one of my favorite foreign languages is Arabic.  I’ve taken some Arabic before and I got the opportunity to continue my Arabic studies through the Startalk Program in Annapolis, MD.  Over the course of the month, I studied Arabic from 9-3 every day.

The program took field trips into DC so that we could visit the Islamic Center of DC, a Maronite Catholic Church, the Delegation of the PLO, and the Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center.  It was a great way to continue my Arabic studies without going abroad.

Arabic is read and written right to left, unlike English, and has 28 letters.  A few words in Arabic that are useful are شكراً, pronounced shukran, which means thanks.  And اهلاً ة سهلاً, ahlan wa sahlan, means hello.  اسمي, ismee means my name is and مع ابسلامة, ma salama, means goodbye.

! مع ابسلامة

Paige

This entry was posted in Academics, Languages, Off-campus Programs by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola