Countdown

After a long summer of lacrosse, work, and days out on the water, I am ready to return to the winding paths and knobby trees of New Hampshire. I already find myself mentally prepping to get back into the rush of campus – I am checking my e-mail every few hours, running through lists of things I need to bring up to school, and unconsciously waking up a little earlier every day. I feel the almost magnetic pull of Exeter, and with it comes the excitement of seeing all of my friends again. I’m even looking forward to some pretty late nights with my buddies, a paper due in six hours, a few cans of red bull, and my headphones on full blast.

This time two years ago, I was frantically organizing last minute items for the drive up and saying goodbye to everyone back home. I was a mash-up of all sorts of emotions; I was pumped to make friends, but nervous that no one would like me. I wanted to get out of my house and be on my own, but knew I would miss my family. I wanted to learn more than ever before, but the rumors I had heard about Exeter’s workload made me question my decision.

For anyone who finds him/herself in this position of feeling nervous about whether he/she will be able to fit in at Exeter, know that you are far from being alone. Every prep is a new prep – no one knows the ropes, the slang, or the routine. The school knows you’re all new, and eases you into life at Exeter efficiently and smoothly. The first few weeks are some of the most fun you’ll have this year just because of how new and foreign everything is. After being at Exeter for just a month, I knew it was the place for me, and I feel confident that you all will see how amazing a place your school is as well. Because that’s what it is – YOUR school. On September fourth, life at Exeter will no longer be an abstract idea only read about on blogs and the school website. You will be a part of the incredible machine that is Phillips Exeter Academy, and you will know you are at one of the most amazing places in the world. Enjoy your last few days with your families, and get pumped for the beginning of one of the best experiences of your life.

This entry was posted in Residential Life, Summer Break and tagged , by morganbigred. Bookmark the permalink.

About morganbigred

Hi guys! My name is Morgan. I am a returning Upper here at Exeter, and I am from Shrewsbury, New Jersey. I debate and play lacrosse, and my favorite thing about Exeter is its students. I love that my friends are from across the globe, and that everyone I meet here at Exeter is just as interested and excited by school I. My favorite class so far is Computer Science, and my favorite restaurant in town is Penang, hands down. Twice a week we have assemblies, and the best one this year, was when a scientist from NASA came and spoke to us about the rovers on Mars. Qualities like these are what make Exeter such a special place. I look forward to hearing from you guys, and answering any questions you might have.