Deutsch

I just got back from my fourth year as a camper at Concordia Language Villages in Minnesota.  Although I spent one summer at Al-Waha, the Arabic Village, Waldsee, the German Village, is one of the places where I can express myself freely in either English or German and everybody understands what I’m trying to say.  The Camp is in itself a stereotypical German village but also has more modern features, including the first German certified Passivhaus in North America as well as a soccer partnership with FC Bayern München.  I recently completed the Lehrling programm their, meaning I spent four weeks speaking mainly German.

One of my favorite activities at Waldsee was the political simulations that we did so often.  One was learning about the initial German Unification, when all the of various Kingdoms and Prussia ended up uniting to form the first modern Germany.  What I found out about that unification that was most interesting was that the formal unification occurred in Versailles’ Hall of Mirrors in France, which, as a country, had traditionally had not always ideal relations with the German-speaking kingdoms of Europe.  Another simulation had us learning about what happened to Germany after WWII.  During this game, we played as five countries: the four powers of USSR, France, USA, and Britain; as well as Germany.

Well I wouldn’t trade Waldsee for anything, it had to end as school is starting soon.  We all can’t wait to meet the new students soon as well as begin touring again.

Paige

This entry was posted in Languages, Summer, Summer Break by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola