Back to School

One of my favorite parts of coming back to Exeter in the fall is getting to hear about all the interesting things my peers did over the summer. With such a diverse (in every sense of the word) student body, it’s safe to say that there are tons of unique stories. I must admit, however, that the majority of my summer included sleeping (a commodity which I’ve come to appreciate more and more over the last few years), running, and taking my first looks at SAT prep books.

I did spend a few days each week interning at The Salvation Army- it was awesome getting to aid in the efforts of a great organization, and, as my boss Olivia put it, find “practical applications for the skills learned in school.” While there, my main job was grant writing (writing to local foundations to request funding). Besides that, I worked on a bunch of smaller jobs, like organizing picture files on the computer, writing thank you notes, and designing campaign flyers. Not only was my work at the Army super interesting, I also met some incredible people, at board meetings and in the soup kitchen alike. In particular, I grew close to my boss and her assistant, Fran, and it was hard saying goodbye to them at the end of the summer!

Anyways, it feels great to be back on campus; now that were entering into the third week, it seems like the beginning-of-school excitement is starting to wane and everyone is settling into their schedules. I’ll admit, I’m a bit on edge, waiting for the big upper-year shock (11th grade at Exeter is notorious for its required US history sequence, steep increase in homework, and the advent of the college search), but so far, so good!

I really look forward to keeping you guys updated on the happenings of my third year here; I’m sorry for letting so much time pass without a post- from now on I’ll make sure to write at least every other week, even if its just a quick update!

Rachel

This entry was posted in Academics, Community Service, Summer, Summer Break by Rachel. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rachel

Hometown: Akron, OH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: D2 Java Favorite Assembly: Opening Assembly Favorite Spot on Campus: couches on the third floor of the library- it's a perfect place to get work done and has an awesome view of the academy building Favorite D-Hall Dessert: Exeter Bars of course! Although birthday cake and ice cream is a close second... Hey everyone! My name’s Rachel, and I’m 4-year senior at Exeter. I’m from Akron, Ohio, but currently live with thirty three other girls and three faculty families in Amen Hall (the best dorm on campus!). Like most students at Exeter, I arrived my Prep Fall with no idea of what I wanted to "be" when I grew up, and in the past three years I've developed interests in places I never knew I would, such as in playing the piano, creative writing, and Chinese language studies. Besides just within the dorm, I’ve found other homes at Exeter, in ESSO (Exeter Social Service Organization) clubs such as Active Minds and Tutoring for Children, and in the admissions office giving tours. Through Exeter I've had several off-campus opportunities as well, including trips to Silicon Valley and China, and this winter will participate in an Exeter trimester abroad program in Taiwan! I hope you guys can learn a little more about me and the other bloggers and about what it's like here, from a current student’s perspective, through our blog entries. And, of course, we hope to meet you on campus one day! Go Big Red!