Cyclocross!

One of the benefits of being a day student is that it’s not too hard to do some pretty cool things off campus.

Image

One of those things that I’ve been up to recently is cyclocross! I started doing it in order to train for road season but I’m really enjoying it in it’s own right! Cyclocross is, essentially, a forty five minute race on bikes around a closed course. Sounds simple enough, right? The catch is that, in cyclocross, you race on rough terrain in any and all conditions (if you don’t believe me, check this out http://vimeo.com/59003307)! Barriers are also set up throughout the course so that you actually have to get off your bike and run with it at various times during the race. It’s really hard, really tiring, and really satisfying.

Cyclocross, just like a lot of the things I’ve done on campus at Exeter, shows me just how far I can push myself. After every race I can be proud of myself no matter how I did in the standings because I know that I worked hard, really hard, and I can take pride in that.