Lower Fall

Hey guys!

I apologize for taking so long to blog – it’s really just been a busy time for me, for all of us really. I hope you guys enjoyed my last post about Alaska, but now that I’m settled in and its halfway through fall term, I’ll tell you guys about my great new classes!

I’m a lower this year, or sophomore, and this fall the classes that I’m taking are Math 331, English 210, Chem 319, Spanish 310 and Islam. Every class is unique and I especially enjoy english, spanish and religion. The discussions allow us to explore new ideas in different ways especially in religion where we mix in controversial current issues into our conversations. This term Spanish is very different too because everything we say around the table is in Spanish and it is very common to talk about politics and sports for 30 minutes before diving into our text, which is a play about the Mexican revolution.

Chemistry 319 is extremely difficult but I enjoy it a lot. I regularly get 2 to 3 hours of homework and there’s reading, math and memorization with every assignment. It’s challenging but it’s definitely what I signed up for. What I love is that it’s never all work and no fun. We work on interesting labs to learn new concepts and whenever there’s a birthday, Ms. Hobbie always let’s us celebrate with explosions or fire or something fun for that person (for mine she wrote my name with oil on the table and lit it on fire).

Lower year is much much tougher than prep year and I’m averaging six and a half hours of sleep a night, but that is also because of the extracurriculars I’m involved with. This term, I was lucky enough to be the volleyball manager and working with the girls every day is something I look forward to. We’re currently 7-4 and still going strong. Go Big Red!

This entry was posted in Academics, Sports by Kevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin

Hey applicants! My name is Kevin Zhen and my hometown is Miami, FL. I’m a four year senior living in Cilley Hall. Back home, I have a sister, two great parents, and a golden retriever back home named Cooper. Since I came to Exeter, I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of a variety of clubs and activities. Currently, I am the President of the Senior Class and the head of two different clubs (ITXC, Exeter's breakdance club, a history club that competes in an annual national competition), as well as the Humor Editor of the Exonian, the school newspaper. In my free time, I also enjoy playing piano and am planning to perform a one-hour senior recital in the spring of this year. I love exploring town and playing C-ball (a sport that combines volleyball with tennis and soccer that only my dorm plays) with my boys. Hometown: Miami, Florida Class: 2016 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Las O Favorite Assembly: Dance Assembly Favorite subject: English