Weekends and Weather

Hope everyone’s had a great first month back at school! As I mentioned in my last post, things here have settled down into a routine after a few weeks of “welcome-backs,” orientations, and arguably one too many name games. And, with the temperatures dipping a bit lower each week and the sun going down sooner, the outside campus seems to be quieting down too; students are retreating indoors sooner, some to do work in the library, or hang out with friends in the dorm.

Of course, that’s not to say that life at Exeter is boring or uneventful! In fact, Fall is my favorite season at Exeter; the red and yellow leaves and clear New England skies frame the campus in the most beautiful way.

And, there’s never a shortage of things to do on the weekend here. As Zach mentioned in his last post, two weekends ago was Academy Life Day. My dorm, Amen, took a bus to Portsmouth (a cute historic town, about 20 minutes away) for a scavenger hunt and lunch.

The same weekend was Fishfest, an 80s themed dance. It’s always fun to see the crazy outfits people put together: leg warmers, leotards, and head bands, all in bright neon colors.

I guess that’s about it for now… Next weekend is Family Weekend, where parents or other relatives can come sit in on classes, and there are no classes on the following Monday. A lot of students get permission to go out of town; the majority either go home or to visit Boston. I’ll be sure to tell you all about it!

Rachel

This entry was posted in Residential Life and tagged , by Rachel. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rachel

Hometown: Akron, OH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: D2 Java Favorite Assembly: Opening Assembly Favorite Spot on Campus: couches on the third floor of the library- it's a perfect place to get work done and has an awesome view of the academy building Favorite D-Hall Dessert: Exeter Bars of course! Although birthday cake and ice cream is a close second... Hey everyone! My name’s Rachel, and I’m 4-year senior at Exeter. I’m from Akron, Ohio, but currently live with thirty three other girls and three faculty families in Amen Hall (the best dorm on campus!). Like most students at Exeter, I arrived my Prep Fall with no idea of what I wanted to "be" when I grew up, and in the past three years I've developed interests in places I never knew I would, such as in playing the piano, creative writing, and Chinese language studies. Besides just within the dorm, I’ve found other homes at Exeter, in ESSO (Exeter Social Service Organization) clubs such as Active Minds and Tutoring for Children, and in the admissions office giving tours. Through Exeter I've had several off-campus opportunities as well, including trips to Silicon Valley and China, and this winter will participate in an Exeter trimester abroad program in Taiwan! I hope you guys can learn a little more about me and the other bloggers and about what it's like here, from a current student’s perspective, through our blog entries. And, of course, we hope to meet you on campus one day! Go Big Red!