Parents Weekend

Parents Weekend

Hey guys! Fall term is a busy time, as you can probably deduce from our lack of blog posts, but that doesn’t mean we don’t have time to unwind! Last weekend was family weekend, which means that many students families come to Exeter to sit in on classes, feed us food not from dining hall, and take us off campus for the first time since we were dropped on campus. Some students, however, are left without a home or a family (other than their dorm, of course) for the weekend, so I decided to have a little get together at my house. I live driving distance from campus, so my parents came to pick up me and fifteen of my friends to come back for a delicious home cooked meal of steak tips, Caesar salad, and apple crisp. When dinner was over, we played Cards Against Humanity (my team definitely won), which has been a favorite game on campus this year, and hung out until everyone had to leave for check in. It was a lot of fun to have my friends see my house, and I think they enjoyed a festive night together while while campus was so dead. Looks like they’re are some pluses of being a day student! Hopefully I can have everyone over again soon!

-Elle

This entry was posted in Day Student Life, Fun by Elle at Phillips Exeter. Bookmark the permalink.

About Elle at Phillips Exeter

My name is Elle, and I am a senior day student at Phillips Exeter and have been here since my prep (9th grade) year. I grew up in the near-by town of Rye Beach, New Hampshire and went to a small public middle school there. Once I came to Exeter, I came to love the Harkness style of teaching, especially in math and the sciences. Although I am at here mostly for academics (athletics were never my strong suit!) I’m involved in a variety of activities other than putting my nose to the books. I really love the outdoors and try to spend as much time as I can hiking, kayaking, or just exploring the wilderness over breaks. As a day student, I am able to continue horseback riding from my middle school days, but I’ve found several new activities that I love too! I picked up squash my prep year and played on the varsity team this year, it is such a fun sport! I also really enjoy attending Economics Club, Investment Club, Republican Club, and Biology Club. I live at home with my mother, father, sister (a lower at Exeter this year), and my Bernese Mountain Dog, Fischer. A few pieces of trivia about me- my favorite restaurant in town would have to Green Bean, their soup is so good! My favorite assembly at Exeter would have to be pep assembly because it's great when the whole school unites against the smurfs (Andover). I’ve found a home away from home here at Exeter, though, and hope you love it as much as I do!