Festivities at Exeter

Happy Holidays!

Last week we arrived back on campus for the start of Winter term. Over Thanksgiving break, Exeter, both the town and school, decorated itself for the holidays. The town is festooned with fairy lights, tinsel, and pine and hosted a three day kick-off to the holiday season this past weekend. On campus, holiday cheer is found in both dinning halls, in dorms, and even in grill. Religious Services here is ready for the holiday season. Last week, a belated Channukah was celebrated by the Exeter Jewish Community. Dreidel was played and many latkes were eaten. This past Sunday, the Church had a caroling service followed by a dinner. Various seniors spoke during the services, so I went with my friends to enjoy the candlelit church.Phillips Church decorated for the holidays I was too mesmerized to capture a picture of all the students congregated their, holding candles and illuminating the garlands and bells on the walls, I do have a picture of the church decorate for Christmas.

Even more holiday cheer is coming in the next two weeks at Exeter with a concert featuring all of our music groups next Sunday and various dorm activities happening.

Happy Holidays!

Paige

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events, Traditions and tagged , , by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola