Winter Time Music

Hey everyone!

The air has turned bitter, the days have grow short, and snow is on the ground. There is no mistaking it, winter is here! And with winter comes festive music of all types–just recently, around 30 Exonians and I had the opportunity to watch the Youth Boston Philharmonic Orchestra perform in Symphony Hall, and it was amazing. They played an assortment of pieces, ranging from A Gandolfi piece to Shostakovich’s famous 5th Symphony. Although I am not the most experience listener of classical music, it was really interesting to hear kids like me, two of whom attend Exeter, complete extremely difficult music in such a professional fashion. If I ever get the chance again, I will definitely go.

Have a happy winter!

Rex

Boston Philharmonic Orchestra

This entry was posted in Arts and Music, Fun, Off-campus Programs and tagged , , by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.