Martin Luther King Day

Hey Guys!

After being inundated with heaping piles of essays and Faulkner readings, we finally got to kick back and relax for some personal time for reflection.

MLK signs

MLK day is honored in a special way here at Exeter. We cancel classes for one Friday and host workshops during the day, inviting speakers from around the country to come and present ideas of Non-Violent Protest and Civil Rights. We had a terrific keynote speaker, a session of how prejudiced we are against hair, and a workshop hosted by Exonian Encounters to let us see how much we have in common with everyone else. How empowering a day it is!

Hectors snowy Academy Building pic

After the day passed and all the workshops, we decided to have some fun of our own. The New England Sun glared over the snow from the blizzard a week before, turning it to slush. And at night, where the temperature falls below freezing, the slush turns to ice. So, we had our own little ice skating rink in front of the Academy Building!

The guys on the ice

After the ensuing snowball fight (I was double-crossed by my fellow compatriots), we decided to move inside for a warmer way to spend our Friday. I still do not understand the craze people have with NFL Madden; I believe my friend’s PS3 has us all addicted.

The guys playing football in dorm room

I can almost count the weeks until Spring Break; 6 more grueling weeks until I return to the sunshine paradise of Vegas. But I will come to miss the snow, at least until the blizzards come again next year.

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events, Fun, Residential Life, Traditions and tagged , by Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy

Hey guys! I am a Lower (for those of you who aren't familiar with Exeter lexicon, a Lower is a 10th grader) from fabulous Las Vegas, NV. I try to immerse myself in the opportunities here at Exeter; this year, I am part of Model United Nations, Biology Research Club, Astronomy Club, Physics Club, Science Bowl, Science Olympiad, painting club, French Club, Christian Fellowship, Chemistry Club, and so much more! I play violin and try to squeeze in some passionate practice times throughout the week. I row during the spring and fall (after just beginning this year, and I hope to pursue it throughout my high school career). My biggest interests are physics, astronomy, and robotics, and during free time I love spending time with friends and exploring the town of Exeter and beyond!