Winter Term Comes to a Close

Coming from Las Vegas, where snow doesn’t even have to touch the ground for a Snow Day to be called, New England Winters are truly something to get used to. The winter wonderland is a paradise to all who adore it, yet is the bane of one’s existence for others! Don’t get me wrong, I love snowball fights and sledding; but when icicles start to shape on bikes and ice rinks start to form on the lawns and sidewalks, its all too much to handle!

frozen bike

One key thing to the end of terms: MANAGE TIME WISELY. As you can see here, I’ve put off my Classical Rome research paper until the last minute, and have to spend the next three days in serious research.

Hectors laptop

Yet there is an upside to the hard work and effort. Every weekend, I try to set Saturday as the day where I get to kick back, relax, and think nothing of academics. Last Saturday, the International Students hosted the first International Tea open to everyone. It’s a day where we all get to dress up and act fancy; tea from different parts of the world, snacks, and a chocolate fountain wrapped up my week.

Hectors tea

There are two more weeks of Winter Term! Soon, I’ll be coming back home to sunshine and home cooking. I’m set to participate this weekend at BosMUN, Boston University’s Model United Nations, and the New England Regional Science Bowl; wish me luck! All in all, one of the better terms I’ve had so far.

This entry was posted in Academics, Clubs and Events, Fun, Residential Life and tagged by Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy

Hey guys! I am a Lower (for those of you who aren't familiar with Exeter lexicon, a Lower is a 10th grader) from fabulous Las Vegas, NV. I try to immerse myself in the opportunities here at Exeter; this year, I am part of Model United Nations, Biology Research Club, Astronomy Club, Physics Club, Science Bowl, Science Olympiad, painting club, French Club, Christian Fellowship, Chemistry Club, and so much more! I play violin and try to squeeze in some passionate practice times throughout the week. I row during the spring and fall (after just beginning this year, and I hope to pursue it throughout my high school career). My biggest interests are physics, astronomy, and robotics, and during free time I love spending time with friends and exploring the town of Exeter and beyond!