The Invisible Net

First of all, I want to congratulate all of our newly accepted students, and give a big welcome to the class of 2018! I am looking forward to getting to see you guys again during revisit week and living with you all next year.

This past week was finals week, and getting through it was tough. At Exeter, one can get bogged down in one’s studies, especially at the end of a term. The demand that comes with attending an institution with the academic rigor and basic expectations that the Academy has, coupled with sports and extra-curriculars, is a large order to fill. But what really gave me the extra push to get through this week was the resounding support I received from my friends. Now when I say friends, what’s interesting is I mean the term friends to include the people I thought were my close friends, as well as several individuals who I never knew cared so much as to how I was doing! All of the other kids were going through the same hardships that I was, and advised me on different ways to lessen the stress of finals week and make the most out of my study time. It was so reassuring to know that I wasn’t alone in feeling intimidated by my exams. After talking to some of my peers and heeding their advice, I felt more confident about my tests and was really happy with my performance.

As a place, Exeter can start to max out a person after a long term of work and extra commitments. But the beauty of the Academy is that it is a place where you are surrounded by people who want to see you meet your potential. From these difficulties I have learned how to better handle my stress, and I know how to approach tasks and difficulties in the best way possible for the future. And so, even in ways I may not have seen immediately, Exeter taught me lessons and gave me tools I would never have acquired otherwise. For just another reason, I am grateful for my opportunity to attend my school.

This entry was posted in Academics, Congratulations!, Connections and tagged , , by morganbigred. Bookmark the permalink.

About morganbigred

Hi guys! My name is Morgan. I am a returning Upper here at Exeter, and I am from Shrewsbury, New Jersey. I debate and play lacrosse, and my favorite thing about Exeter is its students. I love that my friends are from across the globe, and that everyone I meet here at Exeter is just as interested and excited by school I. My favorite class so far is Computer Science, and my favorite restaurant in town is Penang, hands down. Twice a week we have assemblies, and the best one this year, was when a scientist from NASA came and spoke to us about the rovers on Mars. Qualities like these are what make Exeter such a special place. I look forward to hearing from you guys, and answering any questions you might have.