Welcome to Exeter!

Lamont GirlsWelcome to Exeter!!

I can only imagine how your futures changed this past Monday.  For those readers who are new Exeter students, parents, or even siblings, welcome to to Exeter!  The next few months will be incredibly exciting and filled with decisions.  I hope you are able to attend Experience Exeter later this month.

I remember my Experience Exeter.  The day I went, New Hampshire was pounded by a late Nor’easter. The campus looked beautiful with thick snow clinging to the buildings and covering the lawns.  The paths were salted and clear.

I remember being so excited to meet my potential classmates and observe, and even participate in Harkness discussions.  I was unsure if I wanted to attend Exeter before going to Experience Exeter.  But when I gave the school a chance, I realized that is was a perfect fit.  With so many courses to fulfill the requirements, classes of 12 around a Harkness table, so many clubs, and so many different people to meet, Exeter was, and still is, the perfect school for me.

Since coming to Exeter, I have made countless friends with my fellow students, people who are both older and younger than me and who are from places as close as New Hampshire to as far away as India.  I have built friendships that will last beyond my time here at the Academy. I have been able to take classes learning about Islam, pursue a variety of languages, and participate in clubs with some of my closest friends.  Exeter has both ups and downs.  But the many ups I have experienced outweigh the downs and I wouldn’t trade my Exeter experience so far for anything else.

I find it hard to believe, right now, that I am about to enter Upper Spring.  I am starting to think about a life after Exeter.  After three years at the academy and countless evenings spent working on homework, after days strolling down Swasey with Stillwell’s ice cream in the spring with friends, and after many nights of movies and Cards Against Humanity in the dorm, it is hard to believe such an important part of my life is beginning to end.  Because I’m studying abroad next year for a term, I have only three terms left at the Academy and am determined to make the best of them.  Upper Spring is supposed to be one of the hardest terms at Exeter.  I plan to take it head-on and remember, even when I have a lot of work, I am part of an amazing community

I hope all of you give Exeter a chance.  If you decide to come to Experience Exeter, whether as a potential student or potential parent, talk to Exonians on the path, walk around the campus, eat in the dinning halls, walk around the town.  But, most of all, take in your surroundings to take in Exeter as a whole because Exeter isn’t a black and white experience on the path to a successful career. Exeter is a place to question yourself and grow as a person, student, athlete, and community member.  As my Russian teacher said, “When we take people as preps, they become molded into independent, functioning people with their own dreams and ideas.”

Good luck and welcome to Exeter!

This entry was posted in Academics, Admissions, Clubs and Events, Connections, Languages by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola