Welcome to Exeter!

Hey guys!

To those new admits, WELCOME TO EXETER!!!!!  Here in my senior spring looking back on my time at Exeter and all that it’s given me.  I hope you all give it the chance to show you what a truly magical place it is.

As a tour guide, I often get the question “what is your favorite part about Exeter?”  Despite the frequency with which I receive this inquiry, I always hesitate a little.  What is my favorite part about Exeter?  Is it the unparalleled beauty of the old buildings hiding behind vibrant red maple leaves on a sunny day in fall term?  Is it Dhall’s chocolate chip cookies? Is it the opportunities it has given me, for example to work with fruit flies, both here and with Exeter alums out at Stanford?  Despite the millions of amazing things about this place, I almost always answer: “the people.”

Although the people here come and go, they are what makes Exeter.  I have had teachers that form an interesting blend of parent, mentor, and friend.  They have knowledge greater than you can imagine, but sit as equals around the Harkness table, and often around the dinner table as well.  Some of my best and what I think will be longest-lasting friendships at Exeter have actually been with my instructors.  They give me advice on everything from fashion to college to home life.  I am forever grateful for their patience, honesty, and open ears, not to mention their stellar teaching abilities.

I also love my peers.  Their voices around the classroom give the text meaning and value.  They drive the discussion.  Outside the classroom, they are superhuman.  They play varsity sports, master intricate songs on the piano, make our community better place through volunteer work, and somehow still manage to sleep at night.  And they aren’t robots either.  They joke around and have more fun than even the most outrageous Hollywood high schoolers.  One of my best friends live in Massachusetts, only an hour away, another in South Korea, and yet another in Chile.  Exeter has put us in the same place, and we took care of the rest.

I even visited my Chilean friend over spring break and experienced a 7.0 earthquake, something I probably wouldn’t have had the chance to experience at many other schools!  You’ve all probably stopped reading my sentimental post by now, so here’s some pics of my trip for you to glance at! We made it all the way down to Patagonia!

Don’t Feed the Foxes:Image

Moai Statue: Image

The mountains in Torres del Paines National Park, Patagonia:Image

The squad:Image

Good luck in making you decision, and I hope you choose Exeter! 

Best, Elle

This entry was posted in Congratulations! by Elle at Phillips Exeter. Bookmark the permalink.

About Elle at Phillips Exeter

My name is Elle, and I am a senior day student at Phillips Exeter and have been here since my prep (9th grade) year. I grew up in the near-by town of Rye Beach, New Hampshire and went to a small public middle school there. Once I came to Exeter, I came to love the Harkness style of teaching, especially in math and the sciences. Although I am at here mostly for academics (athletics were never my strong suit!) I’m involved in a variety of activities other than putting my nose to the books. I really love the outdoors and try to spend as much time as I can hiking, kayaking, or just exploring the wilderness over breaks. As a day student, I am able to continue horseback riding from my middle school days, but I’ve found several new activities that I love too! I picked up squash my prep year and played on the varsity team this year, it is such a fun sport! I also really enjoy attending Economics Club, Investment Club, Republican Club, and Biology Club. I live at home with my mother, father, sister (a lower at Exeter this year), and my Bernese Mountain Dog, Fischer. A few pieces of trivia about me- my favorite restaurant in town would have to Green Bean, their soup is so good! My favorite assembly at Exeter would have to be pep assembly because it's great when the whole school unites against the smurfs (Andover). I’ve found a home away from home here at Exeter, though, and hope you love it as much as I do!