Welcome to Exeter

RexHello newly admitted students and welcome to the Exeter family!

As I remember back to when I was accepted, I remember I was excited and equally nervous. I knew it was an amazing school and that I would love it here, but so many questions rushed through my mind – how will I fit in? Will I have friends? Will I form close friendships like I already have at home? Will I have fun?

And looking back, I realize there is little need for these fears. Everyone is welcoming, friendly, and helpful here, and although it takes different amounts of time for all Exonians, eventually everyone finds their own friend group, small or large.

What has surprised me most is that almost all my close friends are so much different than me, and come from all over the country and the globe – it makes for truly interesting conversations, I promise!

Here in the photo you can see my friend Phil from Taiwan in the bottom right corner, me in the beany making a silly face, then Yena from South Korea, Julia from Austria, and Nick from New York making an equally silly face. Here we are cheering on Big Red at The E/A games this fall, and it was one of my most favorite moments at Exeter. With these fellow Exonians I have created some of the best friendships in my life that I will keep forever, and hopefully you have a chance to do the same!

Good luck with revisit day!

This entry was posted in Fun, Sports, Traditions by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.