Spring Break Reminiscing

Rex mtn climbHey everybody!

Although the snow has melted from campus and we reached a balmy 80 degrees this Monday, my mind is still wandering back to spring break, when I went ice climbing with my dad in the bitter cold of Colorado.

My father and I have both always been interested in mountaineering and various adventure, so when I found out about ice climbing, we decided that we had to go. The sport involves using ice axes and crampons (little spikes you fasten to your boots) to climb up waterfalls, spanning hundreds of feet, that have frozen in place. The activity is truly exhilarating, and for three days my father, myself, and a guide spent hours in the gorge of Ouray, Colorado, a small town near Telluride.

The actual climbing was extremely strenuous, leaving my limbs sore for multiple days, and it even became scary at times. Although we were top-roped (where a rope attached to a harness hangs from above), the line had a stretch, so when you fell, you fell about fifteen feet. I even pierced my calf with a crampon spike after dropping, and although it was painful, it just added to the excitement.

At the end of the day, the trip allowed my father and I to relax and forget everything about work or school. Now that I am back at Exeter, I am more focused on school work, tennis, and hanging out with friends, but that does not stop me from getting to the gym every day to train for a future trip!

Rex

 

This entry was posted in Fun, Sports by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.