Spring is in the air

Rex tennisHey Everybody!

Although we passed through many long and chilly months, the warm weather is finally here! It reached 80 degrees today, and all over campus you can see people sunbathing, tossing the frisbee, relaxing in inflatable mini pools, or just relaxing on the quad. One of my more favorite aspects of spring is that it is tennis season once again! I have played tennis for six years (it is my main sport), and so I couldn’t wait for our first matches to come around. Not only has our performance this year been fantastic (we have lost only one match and our #1 was injured), but it is an incredible group that I love spending time with.

Whenever we have to travel three hours to some far away school, or come back to campus at 9 PM after a late match, people always wonder why I do it. But honestly, those lengthy bus rides and never ending matches are some of the fondest memories I have of this place.  Next week we are heading to the New England Championships, where we will likely be seeded first or second; even if it would be nice to win, I am most excited to spend a whole weekend with my team mates

(In the photo you can see senior and co-captain Charlie Boyd, on the left, and me, as we defeated Deerfield in a doubles match).

This entry was posted in Connections, Fun, Sports and tagged by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.