Fac Brats

I’ve begun to reflect back on what has happened during Upper Year. I can hardly believe that I am almost 3/4 of the way through my Exeter experience. I feel like I have already checked off so many of the crucial Exeter moments. This year, I have written an Reporter at Large (R.A.L.) and I have written a 333 (the last research paper for US History). While I have been kept busy with school work, Upper Year has given me the chance to meet even more members of the Exeter community, not students, not teachers, not faculty, but faculty children, commonly referred to as “fac brats.” A decent number of my dorm faculty has kids who are in either middle school or elementary school. Many of their children have become surrogate siblings to me. I see them in the dining hall, playing on the quads while I’m in school, they even wish me happy birthday.  I’m incredibly exciting for next school year, when two of my favorite fac brats will be preps.Paiges picture of Abby Some of my favorite kids at Exeter would have to be Rabbi’s children. I eat with them in the dining halls frequently and enjoy every minute of it. Some of my favorite days have started off when I had breakfast with them in Wetherell. I’ve become closer to her three kids throughout the year and have gotten to know them fairly well. I usually seem them biking on the paths, playing soccer on the quads, and at Exeter Jewish Community every Friday night for dinner. I can only imagine what energy they’ll bring to Exeter when they are students, but, for now, they energize current PEA students and remind them of the many wonders of the world, something we forget about while at the Academy. Paiges picture of JoJo

This entry was posted in Connections, Residential Life by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola