End of Spring Term :)

Hey Guys! It’s been a while since I’ve past posted, and so much has happened since!

This term, I’m taking History 215: The European Century. And as we approach the last few weeks of school (It’s almost summer!!!) there’s the last bit of work to do. I’ve been working hard on our last History Research Paper, one where we have room to explore Europe on the verge of World War I. As you can see, the books are piling!  Hectors laptop and books As I stare out my dorm room window writing my paper, I notice the days getting longer and longer and more beautiful. This past winter was brutal; now we can finally kick back, relax, and enjoy the sun. My friends and I took a little excursion out to the river last weekend; we explored town, ate out (there are many good restaurants within walking distance at Exeter), bought ice cream and strolled along the river’s banks. It was a beautiful night to be outside, a drastic change from the scenery back home in Vegas! At Exeter, your weekends are never boring, as there is always something to do. Hector along the river

I’ll be eternally grateful to Sam ’16 who bought us all coffee and donuts for English class the past week! We had just finished our biggest English essay to date called the Roots paper; in it, you would describe a story passed down in your family from generation to generation and how it has affected you personally. We decided to take an 8:00 AM class easily by bringing in Dunkin Donuts to read all of our essays. Here’s a picture of my English Class with Ms. Desmond.

Hectors DD in class

Lower year had gone by so very fast; it feels as if move-in day was just a few weeks ago. We all look forward to a bright and safe summer. I’ll post next month of Exeter’s ESSO Service trip to Costa Rica, of which I’m so excited for! As this year comes to a close, I can’t hope but reminisce of the memories I’ve made in such a short timespan; you learn to take Exeter day-by-day, enjoy the work you do around the Harkness table, and be amazed at the friends and connections you make along the way. All in all, Not bad at all.

This entry was posted in Academics, Fun and tagged , , by Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hector at Phillips Exeter Academy

Hey guys! I am a Lower (for those of you who aren't familiar with Exeter lexicon, a Lower is a 10th grader) from fabulous Las Vegas, NV. I try to immerse myself in the opportunities here at Exeter; this year, I am part of Model United Nations, Biology Research Club, Astronomy Club, Physics Club, Science Bowl, Science Olympiad, painting club, French Club, Christian Fellowship, Chemistry Club, and so much more! I play violin and try to squeeze in some passionate practice times throughout the week. I row during the spring and fall (after just beginning this year, and I hope to pursue it throughout my high school career). My biggest interests are physics, astronomy, and robotics, and during free time I love spending time with friends and exploring the town of Exeter and beyond!