Spring Dance Concert

Hey guys! This is Kevin coming from Miami, Florida since we got out of school Wednesday. I just wanted to post some photos from this spring’s dance concert and talk a little about it. As most of you know, I am a breakdancer (in fact I started breakdancing at Exeter) and I will even be the co-head of Exeter’s very own breakdance club starting next year.

This spring I had originally tried out as a coxswain for the crew team, but unfortunately I didn’t make the cut. However, one good thing about Exeter is that it’s filled with opportunities, so not making the team allowed me to participate in Dance Co, where I learned various other styles of dance like ballet and even how to do a split. Anyways, I had an amazing time dancing this spring and here are some awesome photos from the concerts and dress rehearsals. Enjoy!

Here’s a photo of a senior and I practicing a form of stick fighting in the bellydance piece. This year’s theme was global explorations so there were a variety of pieces that focused on different parts of the world and highlighted different cultures. For example, there was a hula piece, a Chinese-inspired piece choreographed by our very own blogger Kimberly, and many others.

Stick Fighting

This is a photo of my good friend Alex, who is a phenomenal dancer and will be a rising lower next year. She is extremely talented and it is because of people like her that I loved Dance Co so much!

Alex and dance company

This last photo is of a piece choreographed by our assistant dance director Ms. Duclos and Ms. Duclos actually spent hours finding the correct lighting. It was a soul inspired piece and the piece itself is about yearning and aching for a lost lover.

Spring dance company

Hope you guys enjoyed the photos! Have a great summer and I’ll be sure to keep you all posted!

This entry was posted in The Campus by Kevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin

Hey applicants! My name is Kevin Zhen and my hometown is Miami, FL. I’m a four year senior living in Cilley Hall. Back home, I have a sister, two great parents, and a golden retriever back home named Cooper. Since I came to Exeter, I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of a variety of clubs and activities. Currently, I am the President of the Senior Class and the head of two different clubs (ITXC, Exeter's breakdance club, a history club that competes in an annual national competition), as well as the Humor Editor of the Exonian, the school newspaper. In my free time, I also enjoy playing piano and am planning to perform a one-hour senior recital in the spring of this year. I love exploring town and playing C-ball (a sport that combines volleyball with tennis and soccer that only my dorm plays) with my boys. Hometown: Miami, Florida Class: 2016 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Las O Favorite Assembly: Dance Assembly Favorite subject: English