Start of the Year

Hello Everybody!

I hope the start of the school year is going well for everyone so far. Here at Exeter, it has been a blast! Coming back from summer break is always a time for excitement– seeing old friends after a three month break, moving into your new room, and getting to know all the new kids around campus– and this year was not any different.

After my mom and I arrived on campus and I registered, we immediately began setting up my room in the newly renovated Webster– I was lucky enough to get a spacious first floor room, and so we wanted to make it look nice and neat (at least until after my mom left).

Rexs dorm room

With the help from a friend who had been on campus for a couple of days, my mom and I were able to finish the moving in process in a couple of hours, which left plenty of time for me to hang out on the quad, play a little tennis, and enjoy the all school cook out later that afternoon.

Rex with group of friends

The next day (Friday the 5th), classes began, and although it was difficult over the next few days to get in the groove of doing homework and attending classes, the first week sailed by and I can safely say I am settled in. It should be a great term! (Here you can see me with my advisory of nine dorm mates and dorm head, and in the other I am standing in my new dorm room).

This entry was posted in The Campus by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.