Halfway through the Fall!

Hey guys!

We’re about three weeks into the school year, and time is flying fast. Student Council, breakdance, classical piano, debate, volunteering with kindergarteners and managing volleyball is keeping my fall term packed! One great thing about Exeter is that you can choose to be as busy or relaxed as you want; and for me, I chose to be busy. I love exploring new activities and now that I’m an upperclassmen and a club head of many of the extracurriculars I enjoy, I get to lead others and help them find passions and hobbies they never tried before.

I try to balance my social life, academics and sleep, and I think I do a pretty good job. I hang out with my dormmates very often and go on weekly Thursday walks at the local Farmers Market. Academics, arts and athletics can be taxing and challenging, but equally as enriching and enlightening. It is no lie that the Exeter Experience is tough, but I can tell you, the pros outweigh the cons. The bonds and friendships you form with dormmates and classmates both emotionally and intellectually cannot be replicated. Once you join our community, you are forever a part of it.

Below I have a photo of Academy Life Day, a day in which students spend a day without classes with their dormmates (or if you’re a day student, with your advisor) from last week. Cilley Hall went to Plum Island Beach and played touch football in the sand, and also ate a nice meal at Szechuan Taste when we got back. I definitely enjoyed taking a quick break from the usual Monday grind, and I can’t wait until the next ALD.

Kevins Plum Island Academy Life Pic

Take it easy,

Kevin

This entry was posted in Academics, Clubs and Events, Fun and tagged by Kevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin

Hey applicants! My name is Kevin Zhen and my hometown is Miami, FL. I’m a four year senior living in Cilley Hall. Back home, I have a sister, two great parents, and a golden retriever back home named Cooper. Since I came to Exeter, I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of a variety of clubs and activities. Currently, I am the President of the Senior Class and the head of two different clubs (ITXC, Exeter's breakdance club, a history club that competes in an annual national competition), as well as the Humor Editor of the Exonian, the school newspaper. In my free time, I also enjoy playing piano and am planning to perform a one-hour senior recital in the spring of this year. I love exploring town and playing C-ball (a sport that combines volleyball with tennis and soccer that only my dorm plays) with my boys. Hometown: Miami, Florida Class: 2016 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Las O Favorite Assembly: Dance Assembly Favorite subject: English