Astronomy Class

Hi everyone!

I can’t believe we’re just a few weeks away from the end of Fall term! Though I’m excited to come home and see my family for Thanksgiving, knowing that I’m going abroad to Taiwan next term and won’t be back on campus until the spring makes it especially bittersweet.

Along with missing my dorm mates and friends, I’m also going to miss the classes I’ve taken this term. Below is a picture of the Grainger Observatory, a place I’ve come to know through taking an Intro to Astronomy course. Although the majority of our astro classes take place around a Harkness table in the main science building, we’ve had several evening classes at the observatory. Just a ten minute walk from my dorm room, the observatory includes three domed observatories and several smaller telescopes, which we’ve used to view star constellations as well as the moon.

photo (11)

ps: Astronomy is just one of the many science electives Exeter offers. We also have classes in marine biology, ornithology, nutrition, animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and genetics. There’s something for everyone!

This entry was posted in Academics, The Campus by Rachel. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rachel

Hometown: Akron, OH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: D2 Java Favorite Assembly: Opening Assembly Favorite Spot on Campus: couches on the third floor of the library- it's a perfect place to get work done and has an awesome view of the academy building Favorite D-Hall Dessert: Exeter Bars of course! Although birthday cake and ice cream is a close second... Hey everyone! My name’s Rachel, and I’m 4-year senior at Exeter. I’m from Akron, Ohio, but currently live with thirty three other girls and three faculty families in Amen Hall (the best dorm on campus!). Like most students at Exeter, I arrived my Prep Fall with no idea of what I wanted to "be" when I grew up, and in the past three years I've developed interests in places I never knew I would, such as in playing the piano, creative writing, and Chinese language studies. Besides just within the dorm, I’ve found other homes at Exeter, in ESSO (Exeter Social Service Organization) clubs such as Active Minds and Tutoring for Children, and in the admissions office giving tours. Through Exeter I've had several off-campus opportunities as well, including trips to Silicon Valley and China, and this winter will participate in an Exeter trimester abroad program in Taiwan! I hope you guys can learn a little more about me and the other bloggers and about what it's like here, from a current student’s perspective, through our blog entries. And, of course, we hope to meet you on campus one day! Go Big Red!