EXETER/andover

Hey guys,

As you might already know, the annual Exeter/Andover games were last weekend. We have a friendly but intense rivalry with the school with the same name fifty miles to the south, and E/A weekend is always a time for school spirit and bonding, as well as for favorite alumni to return to campus.

When E/A takes place in Andover, Exeter provides buses so that the entire school can come support the teams. There are also tons of traditions associated with E/A – four-year seniors get to wear decorative kilts with school colors, first-year alumni flock back to Exeter in droves to catch up with their friends after their first term of college, and Pep Rally and Pep Assembly the Friday before the games are always memorable occasions. Exeter didn’t fair so well this year, winning in girl’s volleyball, tying a close game in boy’s soccer, and losing a hard fought and well-attended football game by just one point, 13-12, but even in the years when our sports teams don’t do as well as we would hope, the camaraderie fostered by the E/A spirit make sure it’s always a fun time of year. Check me out cheering on the football team last weekend in the picture below – and a special shoutout to head blogger Rachel in the bottom right-hand corner of the picture! I’ll also be uploading some footage of Exeter’s newest club, a blend of fire-dancing, martial arts and gymnastics called Illumninosity and started by my good friend Kenny Berger ’15, so be sure to look out for that.

10265469_346403325534217_3878701508898378766_o

See you soon,

Zach

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events, Fun, Sports, The Campus, Traditions and tagged , by Zach. Bookmark the permalink.

About Zach

Hometown: North Hampton, NH Class: 2015 Favorite Restaurant in town: Las Olas is classic, but you should probably check out The Tavern too. Favorite Assembly: Exeter Association of Rock Favorite Cartoon Character as a kid: Timmy Turner from the Fairly Odd Parents Hey guys! My name is Zach, and I'm a four year senior at PEA. For nearly 8 years, I've lived about 15 minutes away from campus in the neighboring town of North Hampton. Along with about a fifth of the school (some 200 kids), I'm a day student here. I moved to the area the summer before 4th grade, and on the way into town, before I had even seen my new house, we happened to drive through campus. At the time I knew nothing about the school, but that didn't stop me from declaring that this was the high school that I would go to. 8 years later, I'm still happy I made that decision. Here at Exeter, I spend time acting, playing guitar, and rowing, a sport which I had never thought about participating in until I got to campus. I also take Spanish, and I am cohead of the Improv club, Muslim Students Association, and board member of Dramat, the school Drama club, on campus. I hope I can give you guys a good idea of how unique a place Exeter really is.