Winter is Here

Once I have to dig out my boots and jacket from the back of my closet, I realize the inevitable: winter is here. Exeter just had its first snow, only a couple of inches, but as usual, it will likely have a lot more! Winter is one of the most interesting terms at Exeter. I have found that, while it is almost always dark out and you cannot play around outside as much, it is a term where I get to know my friends well and my grades skyrocket!

I guess since it’s so cold out, we don’t have as much to do as Exonians, so we hang out in the dorms, in grill, get our work done, and in general have a rather laid-back term. The Student Activities Office also does a great job of scheduling a lot of fun events for winter weekends, so that students don’t get bored.

IMG_2549

Winter also means squash season! I first learned squash at Exeter, and this year I am playing around the mid-rankings of varsity- it is really exciting. Even though I have played tennis for much longer, I like the two sports equally, since squash is so fun. Below you can see a photo of me gearing up to hit a serve. This was in a match against Milton this Saturday. I luckily won my match, but we were narrowly defeated 4-3.

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events, Fun, Sports and tagged , , by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.