The Exonian

Hey everybody! We are officially more than half-way through winter term, which is exciting. One of the biggest changes this term is that instead of being a writer for The Exonian, our school paper, I am now a news editor! The first week of winter term, the lower board members (usually writers in their junior year at Exeter ) submitted their applications (usually upwards of 20-30 pages) for the editorial board, and then interviewed with the then current editorial board. After the board deliberated, they announced the new board on my birthday, December 7th, and from then until next December, the other, new board members and I will be running the entire paper.

Exonian1

As we have quickly learned, managing the production of the paper is no easy task– as news editors, we have to come up with article ideas, assign them to lower board writers/ new writers, keep in touch with the writers to ensure progress, enforce deadlines, edit articles when they are submitted, and most importantly, lay out the entire paper on a computer program called InDesign, so that all the pages look neat and pleasing to the eye when they are printed.

Since the paper is printed at a press in Boston and sent up to Exeter each Thursday, and we only have half-day classes on Wednesday, this usually means that the editorial board spends around eight to nine hours in the office each Wednesday. It is a lot of work and a lot of stress, but it is also one of the most fun environments to be in at Exeter. The newsroom is filled with editors, writers, and the faculty advisers (who make sure we are printing strong, yet appropriate articles); everyone knows everyone, and so there is rarely a moment when someone isn’t cracking a joke or laughing incredibly loud.

Still, the number one focus is producing a great paper, which we definitely do. Each issue is usually fourteen pages long, with a news, life, opinions, humor and sports section, and the Exonian often covers important issues on campus that get students and faculty talking. It may be a lot of work, but for the three years I have been a part of the Exonian, there is not one moment I regret.

Exonian2

The top pic is the entire writers staff, the bottom is a typical moment in the newsroom.

-Rex

This entry was posted in Clubs and Events and tagged by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.