Why I Chose Exeter

I chose Exeter because I absolutely fell in love with the place after Experience Exeter. I remember the campus was beautiful that time in the spring, but even more memorable than the scenery were the people. My Experience Exeter host was a lower in Cilley, a kid by the name of Hojung Kim, who eventually became one of my closest friends and mentors.

Georgia, a fellow Cilley upper at Hammersmiths

With Georgia, a fellow Cilley upper at Hammersmith’s during my birthday earlier this year

Hojung didn’t have a lot of classes the day that I met him, so he showed me around during his free time. He gave me a tour, let me into his dorm and let me take a nap in his bed, played tennis with me in the afternoon and made sure I met Exonians of all backgrounds and ages. Everyone that he showed me was brilliant, and not in one way, but in multiple ways.

Cilley boys hanging out on a late Saturday night

Cilley boys hanging out on a late Saturday night, bonding over board games

I remember meeting Max, a tall, quiet, tri-varsity athlete who was also the head of Exeter’s Social Service Organization, and completely fluent in Chinese. I remember meeting Morgan, a prep, a masterful debater and amazing guitar player.

Senior Benj and Upper Pranay

Senior Benj and Upper Pranay during breakfast in Wetherell

Even now, the people I meet continue to amaze and impress me. But it was not the fact that people were studious, hardworking, or insanely smart that drew me to Exeter. It was the simple fact that these were genuine people: kind, caring kids that acted more like a family than a group of teenagers.

Needless to say, what I love most about Exeter is the people.

This entry was posted in The Campus by Kevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin

Hey applicants! My name is Kevin Zhen and my hometown is Miami, FL. I’m a four year senior living in Cilley Hall. Back home, I have a sister, two great parents, and a golden retriever back home named Cooper. Since I came to Exeter, I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of a variety of clubs and activities. Currently, I am the President of the Senior Class and the head of two different clubs (ITXC, Exeter's breakdance club, a history club that competes in an annual national competition), as well as the Humor Editor of the Exonian, the school newspaper. In my free time, I also enjoy playing piano and am planning to perform a one-hour senior recital in the spring of this year. I love exploring town and playing C-ball (a sport that combines volleyball with tennis and soccer that only my dorm plays) with my boys. Hometown: Miami, Florida Class: 2016 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Las O Favorite Assembly: Dance Assembly Favorite subject: English