Home

My hometown is 9907.8 miles away from Exeter. That means a rough estimate of a 20 hour plane flight. Family friends back home keep telling my parents, “Why send your only daughter so far away?” “Won’t you miss her?” “Won’t she miss you?”

Hilary at assembly

Faculty Follies at Assembly

My first year in Amen Hall, I didn’t know what to expect. My first class, I didn’t know what to expect. Even as the term break reaches an end and I can feel spring term just around the corner, I still get excited to see if that boy is in my English class, or that girl is in my math class (you get the jist). Exeter, in the midst of its packed routines and hectic workload, always finds a way to surprise me. Don’t get me wrong! I’m not usually one all for surprises, but these are pleasant surprises. Little surprises. But surprises.

I get asked what made me choose Exeter quite a lot. Why Exeter? I don’t have a ‘real’ answer. It’s not just the faculty, although faculty follies (a faculty skit assembly, see picture) this year was a-mazing, not just the dorm, not just the academics. It’s Exeter as a whole. Enduring this bitter winter by penguin huddling to walk to 8 am class in one piece, study parties in the common room, seeing Principal Hassan serve pancakes at Elm Street dining hall, getting that A on that physics test. Exeter is more than just some prep school that’s mentioned in Gossip Girl. It’s a home. It’s a home for the custodians, for the students, for the faculty members, for the dogs and cats that roam around the path. Exeter, as we hear a lot, is a community. And for the past 2 short years, it’s been and always will be mine.

When I’m home, I get to relax and not worry about finals or what club meeting I have tomorrow or how many frees I have the next day. But I’ll probably still be wearing my Exeter sweatpants or Facetiming the girl who lives just across the hall from me. Once you come to a place like Exeter, there’s no going back. You’re bound to its memories, its smell, its environment. You’re bound to it. A bound that, at least for me, spans the 9907.8 miles of land and sea.