Why I Chose Exeter

Hey everyone!

Rex1

Out to dinner in town with friends

We are already a couple days into spring break, and so that means sunny spring term is just around the corner! Exciting! But more exciting is the fact that Exeter just sent out acceptance letters to future Exonians all around the world. I remember being elated when I got “that email” on the morning of March 10th (and of course, later that day, the big packet with lots of information). I also remember the period following March 10th, when I had to make the tough decision of choosing to attend one of three boarding schools or to remain at home and attend a day school.

Heading into the revisit days, I really had no clue what I wanted to do; I loved my school at home, and I loved being home, but the idea of attending a boarding school really excited me. Even if I decided to go to a boarding school, I had the additional problem of deciding which one was right for me.

But after going to the revisit days for each school, my dad (who accompanied me on the three revisit days) and I whole heartedly agreed that Exeter was my best option.

Yes, Harkness sounded amazing, the courses of instruction list was diverse and in depth, the facilities and faculty were impressive, and there were more than 100 clubs to take part in– those were, are, and always will be true, and although I believe these qualities are particularly true for Exeter, most great boarding schools have these attributes (aside from Harkness).

For me, what set Exeter apart was the people. At each school I had plenty of chances to hang out with students, faculty and staff, and at Exeter, everyone seemed so genuine, so interested, so different, and so cool. Exeter was the only school where the students and faculty seemed to have such diverse backgrounds and interests– you might ask, why is that important? Well, because it makes everything so much more fun and interesting. With different backgrounds and interests comes more meaningful, deep discussions at the Harkness table, more diverse ways of thinking for tackling problems, more captivating conversations among friends, and overall a better atmosphere.

rex2

Now that I have been here for almost three years, I can definitely say that is true. I have friends who are coding geniuses and piano prodigies; I have friends who love politics or are avid sports followers; I have friends who hail from Korea and Chile. These people not only introduce me to new cultures, but they also get me to try things that I would never do otherwise. One friend and I put together a drone, flew it over campus, and took photos (which you can see in this post), another friend and I built a website off of an idea of mine (he’s the coding genius), and another one introduced me to the sport of squash, which is now one of my favorite activities. So many of the activities I have begun or interests I have acquired are because of my friends. And at Exeter, where the activities to begin and interests to acquire run in abundance, there is no better place to grow as a student, athlete, person, and friend.

rex3

Studying with friends

 

This entry was posted in Academics, Admissions, Clubs and Events, Congratulations!, Connections, Diversity, Fun, Residential Life by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.