Why I’m an Exonian

With friendsI remember my Experience Exeter.  It gave me my first taste of what it meant to be an Exonian–the infamous Harkness method, the fortune of having a cancelled class when a pending essay is due, and the Exonian “I’ll-get-it-done” spirit.  To be honest, I expected that from Experience Exeter.  What I didn’t expect was the weather: snow.  I had arrived in town the night before, March 31st, and it was a balmy 50 degrees.  I woke up to at least two feet of snow.  April fools, if only….

But as I trudged around campus with my host that day, watching campus facilities clearing the paths and all of the grumbles about Spring-never-coming (something that I imagine has already been a common conversation this year), I saw Exeter as a place, a home.  It’s not that I don’t think Admissions does a good job because I think they do. Rather, it’s simply hard to give every prospective student an active experience. By active, I mean talking to potential peers, teachers, coaches, friends, roommates, etc.  Tours show you the campus, all of its buildings and facilities, but fails to show you the people.  And, to me, Exeter has always been about the people.  They’re laughs and smiles about the never-ending winter are what attracted me to Exeter.  Exonians, I’ve learned after four years, have fun in any weather.  And maybe you can too.

This entry was posted in Admissions, Congratulations!, Connections, Fun by Paige. Bookmark the permalink.

About Paige

My name is Paige. I’m a Four-Year Senior at Exeter. I’m a boarder from the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I was born into a family that cherishes their ancestry and how it can continue to impact you and strange and unexpected ways. I developed an immense appreciation for the connections between culture, language, and religion. In the way children often do, I set a goal: to learn German. I stuck with it, not knowing how that would lead me to attend an amazing language immersion camp in middle school, a camp I am still involved with to this day. I decided after that first summer I was interested in a boarding school. Some family friends said I should look into Exeter, for both its student body diversity and in its academic diversity. I applied and love the diversity of both classes and people here. Although I finished my German studies last Spring, I have taken up Russian. This summer, I had the chance to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia through Exeter and hope to pursue Russian in Exeter. Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Class of 2015 Favorite Restaurant in Town: Green Bean Favorite Assembly: Pep Assembly Favorite D-Hall: Wetherell Favorite D-Hall Food: Matzo Granola