Community

Jackson 2

Winter term has come to an end and I have been reflecting on what really made me come to Exeter. There are so many wonderful academic programs and opportunities for students to broaden their horizons, but I think what really made me interested in Phillips Exeter Academy is the friendships formed among peers. Before going to boarding school, I already knew about Exeter being one of the top boarding schools in the country, but what I did not know about was the strong student community. When I returned to Exeter on my revisit day I had the opportunity to follow a student to their classes and their dorm for a few hours. In that short amount of time, I was able to observe how close and friendly students were with each other. It seemed as though getting all of the work done after classes was made a little bit less arduous for my tour guide by the people he spent time with. He sat in a study group with his friends in the dorm so that hours of homework that they received that night was less tedious and more of a social activity.

Now that I have attended Exeter for two terms, I have been able to experience the close Exeter community first hand. I have made so many friends in my dorm and around campus who were a key part in helping me take the pressure of myself while I adjusted to Exeter academics. The proctors and other seniors in my dorm helped me to get out of the dorm more often and explore all that Exeter has to offer. Greg, Anzi, and Brian, all of whom live only a few doors away, became the closest friends that I have ever had and showed me that you can get good grades while having fun with your friends. To me, at least, the community and friendships are what really make Exeter the best boarding school in the country.

Hope to see you for Experience Exeter!

– Jackson