Working at Stanford, Traveling, and Getting Ready for Senior Year

Hey everyone!

The last few months have been a whirlwind of activity. While summer flew by, it was an amazing time.

It started out with a low-budget trip around Europe with my best friend, who graduated in June. We did tons of hiking, exploring, and unwinding, and it was a spectacular ten days. Then, after one day of recuperation at home, I was off to Palo Alto, California for six weeks of work at Stanford.

I was working in Dr. Seung Kim’s  ’81 lab in Developmental Biology at the Stanford Medical School. The internship was possible because of the work I did in the Bio 470 course at Exeter, which I wrote about earlier. In any case, Ethan, another senior, and I, moved to a house in California to live and cook on our own and work in a world class lab. Our main tasks were dissecting, staining, and imaging different fly lines, but we also got to attend lab meetings, hear thesis defenses, listen in on talks from renown scientists, and discuss numerous scientific papers with our main mentor, Lutz Kockel. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my life, but I won’t write too much about it here because Ethan and I actually kept a blog about our time there, https://thedrosophilife.wordpress.com/.

You can read my two latest posts, summing up the six weeks in Palo Alto: https://thedrosophilife.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/one-door-closes-another-opens/ and https://thedrosophilife.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/lessons-learned-fun-had-outside-of-the-lab/

       Image 1           Image 2

After Stanford, I spent a month with my family relaxing, working out, and preparing essays for college applications! It’s scary, but exciting.

Image 3

Although we have only been at Exeter a couple weeks, it seems everybody is already in the swing of things. My senior year so far has been so busy, but so fun. I am taking US History, which is already so interesting, first year Greek (which is quite difficult), Calculus, and Journalism. Possibly the coolest course I am taking this year is Latin 611, which is basically just me, a friend, and a teacher. My friend, Henry, and I have finished the core curriculum for Latin at Exeter, so now we are reading whatever we want! We chose a Roman comedy by Plautus called the Menaechmi. It is about two twins, separated at birth, and both named Menaechmi. Let’s just say, it gets quite confusing, but it is also quite hilarious.

Image 4

Until next time,

–Rex

This entry was posted in The Campus by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.