A Full October!

The leaves are turning beautifully as we head into our last few weeks before the end of fall term.  With everything from Parents’ Weekend to Halloween, campus has been buzzing.  Everyone was excited for Friday October 16, when Parents’ Weekend officially began.  Our families met our teachers, sat in on our classes, and listened to our discussions. We had a half day of classes on Saturday and the day off on Monday.  My mother and I drove down to Boston after classes on Saturday, as many families did, and we watched the racing at the Head of the Charles regatta and met some of my former crew teammates from North Carolina.  After the races, we enjoyed walking around Harvard Square and I had my first bubble tea. It was a picture perfect fall day and so nice getting to spend time with family and old friends. For those students whose parents were unable to visit, there were trips to the mall and to Boston as well as other activities on campus.  The long weekend was a welcome change of pace and the extra people on campus made it all the more lively.

Fall_Leaves        Also in October, the Academy hosted, for the seventh year, a day long Phillips Exeter Academy Model United Nations (“PEAMUN”) conference.  Many “delegates” from other schools in the New England area came to participate.  One of my friends chaired a large General Assembly focused on the topic of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). We had committees which discussed food safety, immigration, and a joint historical crisis committee tasked with resolving the Cuban Missile Crisis.  The group I was placed in was a small historical crisis committee whose purpose was to discuss how to resolve the tension between the Petrograd Soviet and the Russian Provisional Government that manifested itself in the July Days of the Russian Revolution in 1917.  This was a topic I knew very little about, but I learned a great deal through my preparations for the conference and through listening to my fellow delegates.  The conference was a fun way to meet people from other schools and work on our communication and negotiation skills.
My roommate and I enjoy hosting parties with friends in our dorm room and Halloween was the perfect opportunity. We are fortunate to have numerous places in town to shop for treats and decorations and I don’t know which was more fun – the preparation for the party or the party itself. We decorated our room, made treats for our friends, dressed all in black, and watched horror movies to complete the theme of the evening.

Halloween Party
It has been a busy and fun fall, with finals and Thanksgiving just around the corner!

This entry was posted in The Campus by Marie Leighton McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marie Leighton McCall

Hello! My name is Marie Leighton and I am a member of Exeter's Class of 2018. It is my third year at PEA and while I am far from my home in North Carolina, my wonderful dorm of Hoyt Hall has become my second home. I enjoy spending time with my classmates and friends in clubs such as Model UN, Business Club, and ESSO American Sign Language, and with my teammates on the rowing team. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at mlmccall@exeter.edu