Gym Night!

Hey Everyone!

It’s been a stressful couple of past weeks for us seniors. The joys of college applications! Luckily, some of that is now behind us, since the early application deadline for the Common App was a couple of days ago. I might still need to do the rest of my (many) apps, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

One of the many things that alleviates senior year stress is Gym Night! Every term, each dorm gets to use the gym, or the outdoor stadium in the spring, after check-in hours. That means that, as a dorm, you check-in on a Friday or Saturday night, then head out to the gym and do whatever you want for the next couple of hourspic 1

A loose ball and the ensuing race to get it.

pic 2pic 3

An opposing team’s player goes for the shot, and I do my best to block it.

It is always an amazing bonding experience for dormmates, but more importantly, it’s just plain fun. This year, we organized ourselves into games of soccer, dodgeball, and basketball, and I chose basketball. While the game got a little competitive, it was mostly entertaining. I, for one, can’t shoot a basketball for my life, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t try…

–Rex

This entry was posted in The Campus by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.