Thanksgiving Break

Hey Everyone!

We just got back on campus after a long, restful 13 day Thanksgiving Break. It is surprisingly warm, considering there is usually snow on the ground by now, which only adds to the fun of these two weeks.

My favorite time of the year is actually this period of classes between Thanksgiving and winter break. We might have Saturday classes, but we only have two weeks of school, and then two more weeks of break! Not to mention I have a December birthday, and squash season is starting now.

Anyways, Thanksgiving break was fantastic, as always. Exeter usually has long Thanksgiving breaks compared to other schools, and it’s nice to spend a lot of time with your family after being away for so long.

I know the one thing I was nervous about, when I applied to Exeter, was what it would be like being away from my family. Of course, I was scared of getting out of touch with my parents and siblings. But I have found that my relationships with family members only improves when I’m away. This sounds counterintuitive, and it is obviously sad to not see them for so long. But I talk to them all the time over iMessage and FaceTime, and when I am home, I rarely argue with them, because being away shows how much I love, cherish them– with that in mind, it seems silly to waste time over little spats. This break was no different. I hung out and laughed with my brothers, sisters, and parents for all thirteen days, and it was a blast.

–Rex

This entry was posted in The Campus and tagged , by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.