Secret Santa!

Hey everyone!

I know it’s way late, but I just wanted to share one of my favorite dorm traditions: Secret Santa! Each December, right before winter break, we gather as a dorm to share the gifts each of us has secretly given to a dormmate.

pics

An upper and lower, SP and Ty, at the dorm meeting.

 

pic 2

A 9th grader on my floor, Alex, presents his gift to the dorm.

 

pic 3

Garrett, a prep, shows off the tea his secret santa got him.

 

more-pics[1]

Jake, a 4th floor proctor and friend, and I.

The givers are not randomly assigned (proctors and dorm faculty decide who gets who), but we usually make an effort to put people together who might not be the closest friends. Then, each kid has to buy/make a gift that is less than five dollars for their recipient. To find a good gift, the Secret Santa has to get to know his person a little better and get a little creative. It’s a great bonding experience for the dorm, we always have a ton of fun, and there are usually some amazing, hilarious, and even meaningful gifts.

-Rex

This entry was posted in The Campus by Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rex

My name is Rex, and I am the head blogger for Big Red Bloggers! I am a senior from Washington DC, and this is my fourth year at Exeter. In the dorm, I am a proctor, which is kind of like a student leader for the dorm. On campus, I am the squash captain, I play the first spot on varsity tennis, I play trumpet for the concert band as well as piano on my own. I am also a member of the Discipline Committee, which oversees cases in which students (rarely) break one of the school's major rules. Two of my passions here are being a news editor for The Exonian, our school newspaper, and being a member of Student Council. I was a grade representative two years ago, and last year I was a dorm representative. With my spare time, I love hanging out with friends, playing frisbee in the park, or hosting a radio show with my two friends each week.