First Dance of 2016

This past Saturday, Exeter had its inaugural semi-formal dance hosted by our school radio station, WPEA.  As tends to happen with girls, preparations for the dance began early.  Some of my dorm-mates and I did each other’s hair and makeup, talked, and listened to music as we got ready for the dance.  We had a lot of fun helping each other choose outfits for the evening and taking pictures together.  Once my friends and I arrived at the Phelps Science Center, where the dance was held, we found the whole first floor to be decked out with streamers, balloons, and other decorations revolving around a winter theme.  By the entrance to the building, a student photographer took our picture.  Nearby was a snowflake ice sculpture and a long table full of a vast array of refreshments.  As the doors to the auditorium were opened, a wide open area stood ready for us to dance the night away and a live band welcomed us with a tune putting us in the mood to do just that.

IMG_8446

 

The band played everything from pop to country to electric music.  My friends and I had a ball dancing, laughing, and singing along for hours.  It was great to see so many people from every grade enjoying the evening and making happy memories.  The atmosphere in my dorm that night was animated and lively as we all talked about what a great time each of us had had and our plans to go again next year.

This entry was posted in The Campus by Marie Leighton McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marie Leighton McCall

Hello! My name is Marie Leighton and I am a member of Exeter's Class of 2018. It is my third year at PEA and while I am far from my home in North Carolina, my wonderful dorm of Hoyt Hall has become my second home. I enjoy spending time with my classmates and friends in clubs such as Model UN, Business Club, and ESSO American Sign Language, and with my teammates on the rowing team. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at mlmccall@exeter.edu