Why I Chose Exeter: Opportunity

To those of you who have been waiting for March 10, you’ve made it!  Now, you have a choice to make.  When I was in your shoes two years ago, it was a pretty simple one for me.  There were so many reasons why Exeter was the right choice for me and one of the biggest ones was that Exeter has so many opportunities just waiting to be explored.  When I flipped through the course catalog, spoke with my tour guide, and looked at the website, I knew that being at Exeter would open the door to many amazing opportunities.

This past summer, following my prep year, I was fortunate enough to take part in one of those opportunities.  I traveled to Japan with eleven other PEA students and the head of the Japanese language program.  Though I do not study the Japanese language, I applied for the trip hoping to learn from going somewhere I had never been and experiencing a culture very different from anything to which I had previously been exposed.  I lived with a host family and spent my days at a Japanese high school with the other Exeter students on the trip.  We also went on excursions to temples and markets and learned the language.  The trip gave me a chance to get to know some of my classmates better, to experience a different culture, and most importantly, to try new things, whether that be new food, new experiences, or navigating a foreign city alone.

Japanese Market

A market in Tokyo

Not only does Exeter have summer trips through each of the language programs, but you can also study abroad for a term or a year in Spain, China, France, Russia, Germany, Italy, etc.  There have been programs through the history department to Gettysburg and Nashville to study the history of the Civil War, and this past fall, there was a trip over Thanksgiving break sponsored by the Art Department to New York City.  Exeter can take you from Taiwan to Cuba, and many places in between.

IMG_9185

The Exeter students with our host siblings and classmates on our last day in Japan

In addition to the extensive classes and trips that are available, there is also an immense variety of clubs and sports in which you can take part.  Having all of these opportunities available was one of the driving forces behind my decision to come to Exeter, and now that I am here, all I have to do is be open to them.

This entry was posted in The Campus, Why I Chose Exeter by Marie Leighton McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marie Leighton McCall

Hello! My name is Marie Leighton and I am a member of Exeter's Class of 2018. It is my third year at PEA and while I am far from my home in North Carolina, my wonderful dorm of Hoyt Hall has become my second home. I enjoy spending time with my classmates and friends in clubs such as Model UN, Business Club, and ESSO American Sign Language, and with my teammates on the rowing team. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at mlmccall@exeter.edu

2 thoughts on “Why I Chose Exeter: Opportunity

Leave a Reply

