The Spring Term A Capella Showcase

Hey guys! It’s been a pretty interesting couple of weeks lately. There’s been snow, and also 70 degree days. Classes are good, and the cycling team has been doing well. Life goes on here at Exeter.

Two weekends ago was the annual spring term a cappella showcase. It started at 8:30, but anyone participating had to show up an hour early. Now, I knew this, and yet somehow I still managed to be running low on time to get to the assembly hall. I had been out for dinner with my friends at a restaurant called the Tavern, which I can say was really, really good. I mean, I didn’t get past the appetizer, grilled tuna – yum! The food didn’t come until around 7:20, so I had to practically inhale my risotto and run back to campus.  Somehow I still managed to get there 5 minutes early.

We had an hour to warm up, and we ended up going to rehearse in the ladies’ room. Bathrooms have great acoustics and this actually isn’t that uncommon. I’m pretty sure we terrified a few people who tried to walk in. We stood there in a semi circle, singing up the scale, and getting ready to go on.

A little while later the show began. Our club head, Megan Smith, mc’d the whole event and did a great job!!!). We had researched some a cappella puns as a group, and it was super fun watching it all come together. The first of the groups to go up was Fermatas, and one of my best friends had a solo! I cheered for her as loudly as I possible could, and she was amazing. The next group was the only co-ed a capella group on campus, and they were, of course, fantastic. Then was another all girl group, and they rocked a slowed down version of “Crazy in Love” by Beyonce.

Then it was our turn. My knees were shaking as we approached the stage. In the first song, I had a solo, and I was getting more and more nervous by the minute. once the applause for Sans Hommes, an all female a cappella group, died down, we went up and started our first song. Suddenly, I was at the mic, but as soon as I opened my mouth to sing, my terror went away. I just focused on enjoying the music and having fun. The first song went really well.

Emmy - a capella

 

(Here we are, looking super professional. I’m the one in the white dress, looking short, hidden by a mic.)

The second song was “Some Nights” by fun. We tried to get the energy up, and a few of us ended up laughing really hard. The song actually ended up coming to a stop because we were laughing so hard – on stage! It was so funny I was almost crying. We still managed to finish the song, and the audience clapped and laughed with us.

It was a really great night.

Emmy - laughing

(Here we all are again, cracking up)

Leave a Reply

