Politics Come to Exeter

Hello all!  I hope you are enjoying some warmer weather than we are here in New Hampshire.  It has been a fun first half of spring term with lots of dances, performances, and other fun events, including a personal favorite of mine – crew races!  One process that just came to its conclusion on campus was the Student Council elections.  Each year, in addition to voting on class and dorm representatives, the student body elects an executive board for Student Council consisting of a president, vice president, and secretary.  As is to be expected, those elected will help lead council meetings and act as liaisons with faculty and the administration in the coming year.  We witnessed an exciting campaign this year with many posters, videos, endorsements, a debate, and even a rally!

Continuing with the political theme, one of the perks about Exeter is that we are located in New Hampshire.  “Why is that exciting?” you may ask.  Being in the first primary state, it means that Exeter is abuzz with presidential candidates and media outlets for a few months every four years.  Fortunately, many of the candidates who came to town worked their schedules around PEA’s class schedule, whether they planned to or not.  I was fortunate enough see Rand Paul, Carly Fiorina, Ted Cruz, and Marco Rubio, and some of my friends were able to see Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Donald Trump, and Jeb Bush.  No matter your political affiliation, it is such a unique and interesting experience being able to see these political figures in person, shake their hands and hear their ideas.  Their arrivals also brought many discussions to campus in dorms, classrooms, and clubs such as the Democratic and Republican clubs.  Though there are disagreements on policies, this election has highlighted one of my favorite parts of Phillips Exeter – the fact that there are so many people from different places, with different backgrounds and opinions who can bring new ideas to the table, Harkness or otherwise.

 

Sanders

Photo taken by my wonderful proctor, Caroline del Real ’16

 

Rubio

 

Cruz

This entry was posted in The Campus by Marie Leighton McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marie Leighton McCall

Hello! My name is Marie Leighton and I am a member of Exeter's Class of 2018. It is my third year at PEA and while I am far from my home in North Carolina, my wonderful dorm of Hoyt Hall has become my second home. I enjoy spending time with my classmates and friends in clubs such as Model UN, Business Club, and ESSO American Sign Language, and with my teammates on the rowing team. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at mlmccall@exeter.edu

Leave a Reply

